FMCSA seeking nominees for driver training rule committee

By Jami Jones, Land Line managing editor | 12/10/2014

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration is moving forward with forming a committee to come up with standards for driver training.

The agency announced Dec. 10 in the Federal Register that it is seeking nominations to form a committee of approximately 20 members, which would include FMCSA representatives. Each member will serve up to one two-year term.

The agency is seeking members from driver training organizations, industry representatives, driver training schools, motor carriers, associations, state licensing agencies, law enforcement, labor unions, safety advocacy groups, insurance companies and others. The committee will seek to balance the interests of the diverse group “to the extent practicable.”

“People who will be significantly affected by a proposed rule and who believe that their interests will not be adequately represented by any person specified in this notice may apply for, or nominate another person for, membership on the negotiated rulemaking committee to represent such interests with respect to the proposed rule,” the notice states.

The agency also compiled a list of affected parties and stakeholders for the purposes of composing the committee, and seeks comment on whether the list is accurate and reasonably comprehensive.

The list includes:

  • Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration ( Larry W. Minor, Associate Administrator
  • for Policy);
  • Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety;
  • American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA);
  • American Bus Association (ABA);
  • American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO);
  • American Trucking Associations (ATA);
  • Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways (CRASH);
  • Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA);
  • Commercial Vehicle Training Association (CVTA);
  • International Brotherhood of Teamsters;
  • National Association of Publicly Funded Truck Driving Schools (NAPFTDS);
  • National Association of Small Trucking Companies;
  • National Association of State Directors of Pupil Transportation Services;
  • National Private Truck Council;
  • National School Transportation Association;
  • Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA);
  • Professional Truck Drivers Institute (PTDI);
  • Truckload Carriers Association;
  • Truck Safety Coalition;
  • United Motorcoach Association;
  • Women in Trucking;
  • A large motorcoach operator with a pre-CDL driver training program;
  • A large trucking company with a pre-CDL driver training program;
  • A state licensing agency;
  • A representative of the CMV insurance industry.

The committee will be tasked with developing minimum training standards for the first time and upgrading of CDLs. They will determine behind-the-wheel time, whether schools should be accredited or certified, what trainer qualifications must be, the list goes on. Click here to read the entire project list.

Comments on the proposed committee and process as well as nominations for the committee must be received by Jan. 9, 2015.

Comments on the proposal can be submitted electronically here.

Nominations for the committee must include the name; title; contact information; a letter of support from an organization, company, trade union, etc.; written commitment that nominee will actively participate; short biography; a statement that the individual meets all the committee requirements; and reasons the listed groups do not represent the individual’s interest (if applicable). Nominations are to be submitted to

Copyright © OOIDA