Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee has new chairman

By Land Line staff | 11/3/2014

A committee that advises the FMCSA on cross-border trucking, electronic logging devices and other programs and proposals has a new chairman. Col. Scott Hernandez of the Colorado State Patrol, former vice chairman of the Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee, is now the committee’s chairman. He succeeds outgoing chairman Stephen Owings of Road Safe America.

The Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee, known as MCSAC, met Oct. 27-28 in Washington, D.C.

Moving into the vice chairmanship is John Lannen, executive director of the Truck Safety Coalition. As vice chairman, Lannen moves into position to become chairman after Hernandez.

Hernandez will serve a one-year term on the 20-member committee, which consists of stakeholders from law enforcement agencies, safety groups, motor carriers and drivers.

All members are appointed by the Federal Motor Safety Carrier Administration.

Copyright © OOIDA