Louisiana laws crack down on litter

By Keith Goble, Land Line state legislative editor | Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Travelers in Louisiana who flick their used cigarettes out the window are on notice.

Gov. Bobby Jindal signed a bill into law adding cigarette butts to the list of items that a person can be charged with littering. The violation would carry a fine of $300 – up from $250 – and retain eight hours of litter cleanup duty.
 
Subsequent violations could result in fine amounts up to $1,500. The rule change preserves the 80 hours of litter cleanup and suspension of driver’s license for one year.

Rep. Pat Connick, R-Marrero, said cigarette butts, which do not degrade, are the most-littered item in the United States.

“People do not think these butts are litter. They lack in awareness of the problem,” Connick told lawmakers. “Hopefully we can change that culture to some extent.”

Previously HB1075, the new law takes effect Aug. 1.

Another new law in effect Aug. 1 covers people who fail to pay fines for litter violations.

HB1113 authorizes driver’s license suspensions for anyone who fails to pay up or show up for court.

A license suspension would be lifted once the fine is paid.

Rep. Sherman Mack, R-Livingston, said the bill addresses a problem created when people continually throw away, or disregard, their violation notices.

Copyright © OOIDA

Comments