Rhode Island to get uninsured driver database

By Keith Goble, Land Line state legislative editor | 8/19/2013

A new law in Rhode Island is intended to help identify the state’s uninsured motorists.

Rhode Island requires that uninsured motorists be identified following an accident or during vehicle stops by police. However, there are an estimated 170,000 registered vehicles in the state that are uninsured.

Gov. Lincoln Chafee signed into law a bill to authorize the hiring of a private contractor to track down uninsured motorists. Specifically, H5438 makes a private contractor responsible for assisting the state to identify, locate and suspend the registration of vehicles owned by residents who don’t have the minimum insurance required.

Effective July 1, 2014, Rhode Island will become the 27th state to maintain a database of uninsured motorists.

The private contractor will be responsible for creating and regularly updating a database. Information provided by insurers will be compared each month with the state’s list of registered vehicles.

Vehicles uninsured for at least three months would result in owners receiving a 15-day notice to provide proof of insurance. A second notice of failure to provide proof must be sent before violators could have their registration revoked.

Registration could be reinstated for $250 once the vehicle is insured.

To view other legislative activities of interest for Rhode Island, click here.

Copyright © OOIDA