The Unified Carrier Registration board has announced no changes for the 2013 fee schedule, but there will be a change in enforcement. In the past few years, the date for enforcement has been Feb. 1, but this year hard enforcement begins Jan. 1 and there’ll be no exceptions.
That’s the report from OOIDA General Vice President Woody Chambers, who serves on the board representing owner-operator carriers. Chambers adds that there’ll be sizable penalties for scofflaws.
According to Chambers, the UCR’s letter should be out by Oct. 31, notifying motor carriers of the decision to stick with the 2012 fees for 2013.
UCR registration for 2013 is now open and due. For 0-2 vehicles, the amount due is $76; for 3-5, it’s $227; for 6-20 it’s $452; and for 21-100 the amount due is $1,576. For the complete fee table, click here.
The Unified Carrier Registration program was created by federal legislation, replacing the former system for registering the operators of vehicles engaged in interstate travel. The former system, the Single State Registration System or SSRS, was repealed Jan. 1, 2007.
There are differences between UCR and the old SSRS.The UCR applies not only to for-hire motor carriers, but to all carriers. That means exempt, private fleets, brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies too, unless they also operate as a carrier. The fees they pay are flat sums, based on fleet size. Trailers are no longer considered a unit.
Each participating state has the authority to enforce registration compliance through roadside enforcement checks and through comprehensive business audits.
The following 41 states currently participate: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and West Virginia.
If you are a member of OOIDA and have questions or need assistance paying your UCR fee, call the Permitting and Licensing Department at OOIDA’s Business Services Department at 1-800-444-5791.
Copyright © OOIDA