SPECIAL REPORT: Two more states pass resolutions supporting Safety Month

| 6/6/2003

Missouri and Wisconsin have joined the list of states with resolutions supporting June Safety Month.

The two states join six other states in recognizing OOIDA’s June Safety Month. In the past week, Kansas, Nebraska, Texas, Kentucky, Louisiana and Michigan have announced resolutions.

The Missouri resolution, HR3137, was sponsored by Rep. Bryan Pratt, R-Blue Springs, and Rep. Gary Kelly, D-Richmond. It was adopted June 2, 2003.

The Wisconsin resolution, AJR35, was introduced by Rep. Jerry Petrowski, R-Marathon, Rep. DuWayne Johnsrud, R-Eastman, and Sen. Mark Meyer, D-La Crosse.

That resolution passed the Wisconsin Assembly May 29 and is now before the Committee on Senate Organization, where, according to Rep. Petrowski, it will be scheduled for a vote on the Senate floor.

The Wisconsin resolution reads:

“Relating to June as Truck Safety Month.

“Whereas, over 2,000,000 long-haul trucks and 138,000,000 automobiles share the nation’s highways each day; and

“Whereas, the loss of more than 4,000 lives each year in accidents involving large trucks raises important safety issues; and

“Whereas, truckdrivers, who experience more workplace fatalities than any other single occupation, are acutely aware of their responsibility to highway safety; and

“Whereas, truckdrivers across the nationa have committed themselves to make June a model month for compliance with the truck safety rules; now therefore, be it

“Resolved by the Assembly, the Senate concurring, that the Wisconsin Assembly and the Senate declare June ‘Truck Safety Month’ in the state of Wisconsin.”

The Missouri Resolution reads:

“Whereas, the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA) is the national association representing the interests of the more than 350,000 small business professional truckers from all fifth states and Canada; and

“Whereas, small business truckers, or companies that operate six of fewer trucks, comprise approximately eighty percent of the motor carrier industry; and

“Whereas, OOIDA is actively involved in the legislative process at both the federal and state levels, participates in virtually every significant rule-making process affecting owner-operators, and testifies at all major hearings on trucking issues; ande

“Whereas, in representing small business truckers, OOIDA maintains an interest in a broad spectrum of issues such as taxes and insurance that affect truckers as well as the small business owner; and

“Whereas, OOIDA publishes Land Line Magazine, a trade publication that distributes more than 200,000 copies per issue and is dedicated to keeping professional truckers informed on current legislation, trucking regulations, new products and services, and common interests; and

“Whereas, founded in 1973, OOIDA is headquartered in Grain Valley, Missouri, and currently employs more than 220 full-time staff; and

“Whereas, all of OOIDA’s officers, as well as its twenty-one member Board of Directors, are current or former professional truckdrivers who are elected from the organization’s 95,000 plus members:

“Now, therefore, be it resolved that we, the members of the Missouri House of Representatives, Ninety-second General Assembly, unanimously join in extending our most hearty congratulations to the dedicated members and leaders of the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association as they dedicate June 2003 National Truck Safety Month to promote highway safety awareness and encourage safe practices and compliance with all state and federal regulations; and

“Be it further resolved that the Chief Clerk of the Missouri House of Representatives be instructed to prepare a properly inscribed copy of this resolution for presentation during National Truck Safety Month.”