Virginia July 1 laws cover truck permits, weight limits and registration

By Keith Goble, Land Line state legislative editor | Thursday, June 30, 2011

Multiple laws that cover truck issues in Virginia take effect Friday, July 1. The new laws address overweight and oversize permits, weight limits and vehicle registration requirements.

One new law addresses overweight vehicle fees. It sets up a comprehensive, tiered schedule of fees for overweight vehicles.

The expense of repairing damage to highways from overweight vehicles and the impact of such fee structure on the state’s “economic competitiveness” are among the factors that will be taken into consideration.

Another new law authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles to deny, suspend or revoke vehicle registration as a result of a motor carrier’s failure to comply with federal or state safety requirements.

According to a state analysis, Virginia will need $150,000 in the first year to implement the rule. Another $45,000 will be needed each year thereafter for maintenance costs.

The DMV has been awarded federal grant funds to cover the initial implementation costs and will seek federal grants for reimbursement of the annual maintenance costs.

A separate new law puts the state in accordance with the FMCSA’s 2012 medical certification requirements. It also eliminates the requirement for irregular-route common carriers to prove “public convenience and necessity” when applying for a license.

In addition, the DMV is required to notify localities about the issuance of overweight and oversize permits.

Editor’s Note: Please share your thoughts with us about the topics included in this story. Comments may be sent to statelegislativedesk@ooida.com.

Copyright © OOIDA

Comments