Wisconsin lowers auto liability minimums

| Thursday, April 21, 2011

Truckers will be interested to know that a new law in Wisconsin will soon roll back mandated increases in auto insurance coverage.

Two years ago in Wisconsin, then-Gov. Jim Doyle’s budget included coverage requirements that were doubled. Since then, a complete flip in the majority party of both legislative chambers and the governor’s office has spurred action to do away with the higher premiums.

Gov. Scott Walker signed into law a bill to require motorists to obtain $25,000 for accidents causing bodily injury or death for a single victim, $50,000 for multiple victims, and $10,000 for property damage.

The thresholds being replaced call for requirements of $50,000, $100,000 and $15,000, respectively.

Walker said the higher premiums forced insurance companies to pass the cost onto consumers.

“Repealing this anti-consumer mandate is good for middle class Wisconsinites and small businesses,” Walker said in a statement.

Another provision in AB4 reduces minimums for underinsured motorist coverage. The new mandate calls for minimums of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident – down from $100,000 and $300,000.

The changes take effect Nov. 1.

To view other legislative activities of interest for Wisconsin, click here.

Editor’s Note: Please share your thoughts with us about the legislation included in this story. Comments may be sent to statelegislativedesk@ooida.com.

Comments