By Keith Goble, Land Line state legislative editor
A bill halfway through the Wyoming statehouse would adopt federal truck rules.
The Senate voted 23-7 to advance a bill to the House that would put the state in accordance with the FMCSA?s 2012 medical certification requirements.
CDL holders operating interstate must submit a copy of their medical certificates to the state DOT. Failure to do so could result in the loss of commercial driving privileges or having their CDLs downgraded.
A separate provision in the bill specifies that anyone who violates out-of-service orders in Wyoming must pay a steep price.
Fines for first offenders would be $2,500 fines. Anyone caught more than once would be responsible for paying at least $5,000.
Motor carriers would also stiff punishment. Employers convicted of knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting or authorizing a driver in OOS status to get behind the wheel would face up to $25,000 fines.
Another provision in the bill would lengthen the duration of a driver?s suspension for violating an OOS order. Getting behind the wheel of a truck subject to an OOS order would result in the driver?s license being suspended for six months. State law now authorizes 90-day suspensions.
Repeat offenses within 10 years would result in loss of driving privileges for two years ? up from one year.
OOIDA leadership says that states have every incentive to make sure their rules mirror federal standards. Not only do they see it as a safety issue, but states are also seeking to protect their pocketbooks from federal sanctions.
Non-compliance could result in a five percent loss of federal highway aid, complete loss of all federal grants, and a $5,000-a-day fine.
The bill ? SF18 ? is awaiting assignment to committee in the House.
To view other legislative activities of interest for Wyoming, click here.
Editor?s Note: Please share your thoughts with us about the legislation included in this story. Comments may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Copyright © 2011 OOIDA