Missouri accepting applications for diesel retrofits, upgrades

| 1/12/2011

Diesel truck owners in Missouri may apply for grant money to replace or retrofit their trucks. All applications must be submitted by Feb. 1, 2011.

The Missouri Department of Natural Resources has distributed the grant money to four local organizations located in different areas of the state. Those organizations will distribute the funds to program participants.

Each region will have requests for proposals for one of two programs. The first program will include emissions control retrofits, idle-reduction technology, low-rolling-resistance tires, aerodynamic technology, engine repowers and alternative fuels.

Emission control retrofits must be approved by either the EPA or CARB, and will be reimbursed for up to 75 percent of the cost of the device.

Idle reduction technology must be on the EPA’s verified idle reduction technology list. Idle reduction technology, low-rolling resistance tires and aerodynamic technology will be funded for up to 75 percent of the cost.

Engine repowers apply only to engines that meet more stringent emission standards than the engine they are replacing, and will be funded for up to 75 percent.

Alternative fuel use will fund the incremental cost difference for use of an EPA approved alternative fuel, and up to 100 percent of the incremental cost difference compared to diesel will be funded by the program.

The second program will pay for up to 25 percent of the cost of a new vehicle that meets 2010 emission standards. The grant is only for early retirement of diesel vehicles or equipment. The equipment being replaced will have a hole drilled through the engine block and manifold and the chassis must be cut in half.

On-road vehicles being replaced must have a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 16,001 pounds.

Both programs are reimbursement programs, and all eligible costs must be incurred between February and July.

Once the application period closes, a drawing will be held and “all eligible applications in each area will have an equal chance to be selected for funding,” the Missouri DNR stated last week.

Truck owners from the St. Louis region may apply with St. Louis Regional Clean Cities by clicking here. Eligible truck owners include those from the following counties: Lincoln, St. Charles, St. Louis, Franklin, Jefferson, Washington and Warren.

Truck owners from the Kansas City area may apply through the Mid-America Regional Council by clicking here. Eligible truck owners include those from the following counties: Platte, Clay, Ray, Jackson, Cass, Clinton and Buchanan.

Southwest Missouri is being handled by the Ozarks Center for Sustainable Solutions at Drury University. More information is available by clicking here. Those counties include Cedar, Polk, Dallas, Barton, Dade, Greene, Webster, Christian, Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Lawrence, Barry, Stone and Taney.

Truck owners in the southeast Missouri area can apply through the Southeast Missouri Regional Planning and Economic Development Commissions by clicking here. Those counties include St. Francois, St. Genevieve, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Bollinger, Madison and Iron.