By Keith Goble, Land Line state legislative editor
Motorists who have a history of abiding by the rules of the road could soon get off a little easier when they receive a ticket for a moving violation. Truck drivers, on the other hand, won’t get such a break.
Starting the first of the year, certain offenders can take an online basic driver improvement course. The class is designed to help change driving behavior while avoiding additional points added to the offender’s license. Also, insurance companies will not be notified of the driving violation or ticket.
The Michigan Secretary of State’s office will notify motorists who are eligible for the course. A portion of the $100 fee to take the course will be sent to the state.
After a ticket is issued for a driving violation, the eligible motorist will have 60 days to complete the course and pass the examination. The online course takes about three hours to complete.
Supporters say that studies show that motorists who did not take the online course were 10 times more likely to have an accident or get another ticket. Studies also found that nearly three-quarters of motorists who participated in the program had no collisions or violations in a nine-year period.
To be eligible for the program, motorists must have two or fewer points on their license, and they must pay the ticket fine. Offenders who have already taken the online course are ineligible to retake it to avoid penalties.
To view other legislative activities of interest for Michigan, click here.
Editor’s Note: Please share your thoughts with us about the topic included in this story. Comments may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Copyright © 2010 OOIDA