Several new laws on the books in Nevada are of note to the trucking industry. Among them are changes to trip permits, vehicle depreciation, and size and weight checks.
Two new laws signed by Gov. Jim Gibbons are already in place. As of July 1, commercial vehicles with a combined gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or greater not registered in Nevada must obtain a 24-hour temporary trip permit before entering the state. Previously, vehicles could travel to the nearest available vendor to purchase permits.
Trucks registered through the International Registration Plan and apportioned to travel in Nevada do not need to purchase a permit.
Also included in the law – previously AB372 – are provisions for administrative fines. Those fines are to be handed out in addition to any applicable criminal penalties, if a vehicle or combination of vehicles is determined to weigh greater than its registered weight.
Vehicles cited must be reregistered at their maximum weight, as specified by the vehicle’s manufacturer.
First-time offenders face $500 fines. Fine amounts increase at $500 increments until the fourth and subsequent offense where violators face $2,500 fines.
Another new law – AB414 – already in place raises the cutoff weight for diesel emissions inspections from 10,000 pounds GVWR to 14,000 pounds. The annual inspections will be required for all diesel vehicles weighing 14,000 pounds or less. The change will affect about 9,500 vehicles.
Slated to take effect Sept. 1, another new law changes the way the state determines depreciation on motor vehicles. SB429 slows the depreciation factor in calculating the basic governmental services tax.
In addition to vehicles based in Nevada, the depreciation changes also apply to vehicles based in other jurisdictions apportioned for travel in the state through the IRP.
For trucks weighing at least 10,000 pounds, the amount of depreciation allowed on the vehicle’s value will be reduced – from 75 percent to 85 percent in the first year. During the next nine years, the values will be 10 percent higher than they were previously (to 38 percent in the fifth year, for example, from 28 percent).
For vehicles weighing less than 10,000 pounds, the amount of depreciation will be reduced from 85 percent to 95 percent in the first year.
The tax is estimated to raise $94 million during the next two years. The extra revenue will be routed to the state’s general fund.
One more new law could lead to truckers getting pulled over more frequently in two areas of the state. The rule change enables more enforcement officers to stop commercial vehicles to check size and weight. It takes effect Oct. 1.
Nevada already allows the Highway Patrol to enforce certain requirements relating to the size and weight of trucks.
Previously SB243, the new law expands that authority to include law enforcement agencies in counties with a population of 100,000 or more (currently Washoe and Clark counties). It authorizes police officers and inspectors of the Department of Motor Vehicles and the Department of Public Safety who have completed a vehicle weight-enforcement training program conducted by the state to stop and weigh trucks.
To view other legislative activities of interest for Nevada in 2009, click here.
– By Keith Goble, state legislative editor
Editor’s Note: Please share your thoughts with us about the legislation included in this story. Comments may be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.