OTA’s new board chair supports speed limiters

| 11/21/2008

The Ontario Trucking Association has elected Julie Tanguay to chair its Board of Directors for the next two years. Tanguay is the first woman in OTA’s 82-year history to be elected to the position.

She is president of L.E. Walker Transport Ltd., which has a fleet of 180 trucks and is based in St. Thomas, Ontario.

The Ontario Trucking Association represents motor carriers operating in or originating in Canada’s most populated province.

Tanguay replaces Mark Seymour of Kriska Transportation as board chair, but the clear leader of the OTA is still association President and CEO David Bradley.

Truckers know Bradley’s name because he led the push to have the government require speed limiters on all trucks doing business in Ontario, regardless of domicile. The Ontario Legislature approved a speed-limiter mandate in June, and implementation of the accompanying regulations begins Jan. 1, 2009.

Owner-operator associations on both sides of the Canadian-U.S. border, namely the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association and the Owner-Operators Business Association of Canada, oppose the regulation on grounds that it violates the rules of cross-border and interprovincial trade.

Tanguay is clearly a supporter of mandatory speed limiters.

“In the past few years, Tanguay has become one of the most effective and passionate leaders at OTA,” OTA officials stated in a press release.

“She has been an ardent supporter of the OTA’s efforts to make the activation of speed limiters mandatory; she has said she wants her fleet to be violation-free; and she wants to run a profitable business.”

– By David Tanner, staff writer