Not a UCR host state, Oregon will fine truckers anyway

| Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Motor carriers, brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies that have failed to register with the Unified Carrier Registration Program became subject to fines effective July 1. And even though the state of Oregon doesn’t participate in the new program – which replaced the old Single State Registration System – it will soon begin imposing a fine for UCR non-compliance.

What’s up with that? Jo Schiffner of the Oregon Department of Transportation explained it to Land Line.

“The UCR (system) basically is a federal law. Everybody who operates interstate is required to pay this fee ... Oregon is not participating as a host state in collecting these fees. It would require us an additional burden to collect the fees ... so we have chosen not to do it,” Schiffner told Land Line Magazine.

“And while the state is not collecting UCR fees, it is bound by law to enforce compliance.”

Schiffner confirmed the state will begin enforcing UCR compliance beginning in January 2009. However, Oregon will enforce UCR only if a truck is pulled over and detained for some other purpose. in those cases, enforcement officers have been directed to manually go into the federal database and check the carrier’s UCR status as part of the enforcement/inspection activity.

Fines for UCR non-compliance differ from state to state. Oregon’s fine will be $427. According to OOIDA Regulatory Director Rick Craig, that fine money will be kept by the state of Oregon.

Oregon is a two-permit state, and as 2009 kicks off, the state will also make sure the state’s weight-mile tax has been paid.

The requirement to carry what the DOT calls the “weight receipt” was suspended for a while. Schiffner explained that it was precluded until a certain oversight law was overturned.

She said the state is currently not enforcing the rule to carry the card, allowing everyone “time to adjust,” but after the first of the year, that will change. In January 2009, Oregon will once again require that truckers carry a card proving they’ve paid their weight-distance tax.

If you fail to produce the weight receipt, it could be expensive. According to Cathy Koncilia of OOIDA’s Business Services staff, it could cost you up to $495.

– By Land Line staff

Comments