Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal has signed a bill into law boosting the fees charged per mile traveled for oversized or overweight trucks in the state. Two failed efforts sought to double driver’s license fees and increase fines for speeding in trucks.
The new law, previously HB21, increases the oversize single trip permit fee for overweight trucks from $15 to $30. The minimum fee for an overweight vehicle permit will increase from $25 to $50.
When an overweight permit is issued, the fee will increase from 4 cents to 7.5 cents for each ton or fraction thereof of weight in excess of the weight limitation for each mile traveled on the highways.
A fiscal analysis reports the fee increases are expected to generate $3.5 million in fiscal year 2009, growing to $4.2 million in fiscal year 2011 and each year thereafter. The revenue will be earmarked for the state’s highway fund.
The new fees take effect July 1.
Another bill to boost fees, however, failed. The Senate voted 18-12 to kill a bill – HB142 – that sought to double driver’s license fees. The House had approved it. Fees to renew commercial driver’s licenses would have been raised from $20 to $40. Personal driver’s licenses would have jumped from $15 to $30.
Opponents said the fee increase amounted to a tax increase. They said it is unnecessary because of the state’s healthy revenues, The Associated Press reported.
A separate bill also died that targeted truckers who drive in excess of 5 mph above posted speed limits. The measure – HB156 – would have increased the fine for commercial vehicles found traveling 6 mph or more above posted speed limits from $100 to $300.
The bill failed to meet a deadline to advance, effectively killing it for the year.
To view other legislative activities of interest for Wyoming, click here.
– By Keith Goble, state legislative editor