Liberals retain control in Ontario; speed limiters still on radar

| 10/11/2007

The Liberal Party retained control of the Ontario provincial government with wins in 71 of 107 districts in the province’s Oct. 10 election.

Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty was re-elected for a second term, becoming the first Liberal Party leader to win back-to-back majorities in 70 years, according to Bloomberg Canada.

Donna Cansfield was re-elected for another term. Before the election, Cansfield served as transportation minister. She inherited the request for speed limiters by the Ontario Trucking Association from the previous minister.

Cansfield vowed during the summer that if her party won re-election this fall, she would introduce a bill to make speed limiters mandatory for all heavy trucks doing business in the province, regardless where they are base plated.

McGuinty will now begin appointing members to his cabinet. It is not clear at this point whether Cansfield will retain her position of transportation minister on McGuinty’s cabinet.

Regardless, if Cansfield keeps her position as transportation minister, Ontario insiders predict the mandatory speed limiters are likely to remain on the Liberal Party’s radar.

Both the Owner-Operators’ Business Association of Canada and the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association have come out against mandatory speed limiters.

The contention of OBAC and OOIDA is that mandatory speed limiters are a ploy by the large motor carriers to level the playing field in certain areas such as driver recruitment and retention.

OBAC and OOIDA drafted a joint statement against speed limiters for the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario.

– By Jami Jones, senior editor