New Jersey changes idling laws for trucks

| Tuesday, July 17, 2007

It’s summer, it’s hot out, and the urge to crank up the A/C and let your truck idle may be a tempting one.

But just be careful if you’re doing it in New Jersey – the state has several new anti-idling laws that went into effect on July 2.

According to the state Department of Environmental Protection, the new laws eliminate most of the exemptions that previously allowed diesel trucks to idle for longer than three minutes.

In addition, diesel vehicles are no longer allowed to idle for 30 minutes at their place of business at the beginning of the day, nor can they idle for 15 minutes following a three-hour engine shutdown, except in very cold temperatures.

And, by 2010, truckers will be prohibited from idling their vehicles overnight.

Penalties range from $250 to $1,000 per day for each vehicle.

Comments