The Arkansas Senate has approved a bill that would allow for
stricter seat-belt enforcement. Other safety-related efforts also are drawing
Currently, police in the state can ticket drivers for not
buckling up only after stopping a vehicle for another traffic violation, such
as speeding or a bad taillight.
The Senate voted 24-6 Wednesday, Feb. 28, to advance the
bill to the House. Sponsored by Sen. Hank Wilkins IV, D-Pine Bluff, the bill -
SB227 - would allow police to pull over drivers solely for not wearing their
seat belts. Violators would face $25 fines - the same as current law.
Opponents cite personal choice and the potential for racial
profiling among the concerns about the stricter enforcement effort. Supporters
say saving lives and the lure of federal money should be reason enough to
approve the stricter rule.
If approved, Arkansas would be line for a one-time $9.5
million payment from the federal government, the Arkansas News Bureau reported.
The 2005 Federal Highway Bill gives any state that adopts
tougher seat-belt rules or achieves a belt usage rate of 85 percent one-time
grant money equal to 500 percent of the highway funding they received in 2003.
Arkansas has a seat-belt usage rate of 68 percent.
There are 25 states without a primary seat-belt law.
Twenty-four states allow police to pull over drivers solely for not wearing
their seat belts. New Hampshire is the only state without a mandatory seat-belt
Among the legislation that remains in the Senate
transportation panel are bills to curb cell phone use by drivers.
Sen. Kim Hendren, R-Gravette, has offered two bills that are
intended to ban hand-held cell phone use while driving - for all drivers.
Talking on a phone equipped with a "hands-free" accessory would still be
Hendren has added another bill - SB19 - that focuses solely
on cell phone use of novice drivers. The effort targeting drivers under age 18
would prohibit use of any mobile device while behind the wheel.
One bill - SB6 - would require drivers of all ages to
possess a hands-free device in their vehicles when using a cell phone. Another
bill - SB7 - would require drivers to use a hands-free device when talking on
the cell phone.
Young drivers stopped for another offense who are found to
be in violation of the proposed rule would get off with a warning. Repeat
offenders would face $50 fines.
All three bills allow for drivers stopped for another
offense who are found to be in violation of the proposed rules to get off with
a citation as a warning for the first offense. Additional offenses could net offenders
fines up to $50.
The bills include exemptions for emergency calls.
Currently, 13 states forbid young drivers to use phones
while behind the wheel. Only Connecticut, New York and New Jersey have bans on
all drivers from using hand-held phones. In 2008, California is slated to
implement their own rule that will prohibit all drivers from talking on
hand-held phones while driving.
Supporters of cell phone restrictions point to research such
as a AAA report that estimates drivers distracted by using electronic devices
cause as many as 50 percent of the six million crashes reported annually in the
U.S., the Pine Bluff Commercial