Is the SSRS really going away? What will replace it? In the
meantime, will I need to renew? Will I get a ticket for not having a new
Missouri Department of Transportation's Motor Carrier
Services has mailed letters to Missouri-based motor carriers answering these
questions and notifying them of important details regarding the demise of the Single
State Registration System. The program expires Jan. 1, 2007.
A new program called the Unified Carrier Registration will
replace it, but that program is not in place yet.
Here's the Q and A provided by MoDOT:
I need to renew and pay SSRS fees for January 1, 2007?
SSRS expires Jan. 1, 2007.
drivers get a ticket for not having a 2007 SSRS receipt?
certainly should not. Drivers do need to carry the 2006 SSRS receipt for the
year. If you encounter a problem, please contact MoDOT Motor Carrier Services.
will replace the SSRS program?
Unified Carrier Registration program will replace SSRS. This registration
program applies to both for-hire and private carriers that operate
across state lines. Interstate
carriers, leasing companies, freight forwarders, private carriers and brokers
register under UCR.
should carriers that carry both interstate and intrastate freight or
do about getting intrastate decals?
carriers are not required to renew their intrastate until the UCR program
is making decisions on the Uniform Carrier Registration program?
board of state, private and for-hire carrier representatives appointed by the
Carrier Safety Administration is proposing rules and procedures of the UCR.
will the UCR program cost?
UCR board is proposing a six-tier fee table. The proposed fee for the lowest
vehicle) is $75. Those in the highest proposed fee tier (over 1,001 vehicles)
would pay $37,500 in total. The FMCSA is considering this recommendation.
estimate on when the UCR program can start?
anticipated the program can begin in late spring/early summer of 2007.
has to happen in Missouri for this to work?
legislators will consider a bill to adopt the UCR in 2007. If it passes as
program could start upon Gov. Matt Blunt s signature. If the bill does not
carriers will have to travel to another state to register for UCR because
law requires carrier participation in UCR.