Truckers who drive in Colorado may see some changes in
inspection and enforcement operations next spring.
According to The Denver Post, an audit concluded the
state is too lax on enforcing weight requirements, and that the subsequent
fines are too low.
The audit claims that the daylight-hours operations at ports
of entry are too predictable and that weigh stations can be dodged at night. It
also notes that Colorado's fine for a truck that's 5,000 pounds overweight is
$60, while neighboring Utah charges $300.
The state's Department of Revenue agreed to begin making
changes in March 2007.