An effort in Ohio would restrict when a teen can be behind the wheel
and how many people can be in the vehicle with them.
The House approved a bill this spring that would restrict driving for
those under age 18 with a temporary instruction permit. It would outlaw driving
between midnight and 6 a.m. – a restriction now in place for those 17 and
Teens with probationary driver’s licenses between 17 and 18 years old
would be prohibited from driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. Probationary license
holders are exempted from the time restrictions if they are accompanied by a
parent or guardian.
Sponsored by Rep. Tom Raga, R-Deerfield, the bill also would forbid
drivers under 17 from having more than one passenger who is not a family
Raga’s bill – HB343 – is awaiting assignment to a committee in the
A similar Senate bill includes the time and passenger restrictions for
young drivers but would also make teens wait until they turn 16 before they can
get their temporary instruction permit. Existing law allows them to get behind
the wheel at 15 years and six months.
The Senate version – SB221 – is in the Senate Highways and
If lawmakers and the governor approve changes to state law, Ohio would be added to the list of about 40 states that already have graduated driver’s
license systems that restrict young drivers.