Gov. Rod Blagojevich signed a bill into law July 18 to put uninsured drivers in Illinois on the road to losing their licenses. It won unanimous support in the Legislature.
“When drivers head out on the roads without insurance – it costs everyone. When there’s an accident and one driver isn’t insured, responsible drivers who do have insurance can end up bearing the brunt of the costs,” Blagojevich said in a written statement.
The new law, which takes effect July 1, 2007, calls for motorists caught driving without insurance to lose their licenses for three months and pay a $100 fee to get them back.
Anyone caught behind the wheel while on suspension will have an additional six months tacked on.
Illinois law now fines violators between $500 and $1,000 without loss of driving privileges. The new law, previously SB624, retains those fines while adding the license suspension.
Rep. William Black, R-Danville, said the tougher penalties are needed to provide more incentive to get insurance.
“With this bill in place, drivers who have not yet obtained insurance will now find more reason to do so,” Rep. William Black, the bill’s House sponsor, said in a written statement.