Alaska law boosts overweight truck fines

| Tuesday, July 11, 2006

The fine structure for overweight trucks in Alaska has been modified under a bill signed into law by Gov. Frank Murkowski. The changes are now in effect.

The new law, previously HB266, keeps fines at about their current rate for loads on state highways that are minimally overweight. Fines are “more aggressive” as the overage increases.

It also prohibits insurance companies from negatively affecting the personal vehicle insurance policies of truck drivers who are cited for overweight loads.

“This bill modernizes the state’s overweight load fine schedule, to make it more onerous to take a significantly overweight truck onto our highways,” Murkowski said in a written statement. “And in the interest of fairness, it also prohibits insurance companies from taking an adverse action on a driver’s private auto insurance policy based on overweight citations he or she might have received.”

Vehicles that are 1,001 to 2,000 pounds overweight will carry a $100 fine. Weighing 2,001 to 4,000 pounds in excess will result in fines of 7 cents per pound over the limit. The fine increases to 9 cents per pound for loads that are 4,001 to 6,000 pounds overweight. The fine climbs to 12 cents per pound for loads that are 6,001 to 10,000 pounds in excess. Vehicles 10,001 or more pounds over the limit will pay 15 cents per pound.