Two efforts have been signed into law in Colorado that are
designed to make teens safer on roads throughout the state.
Gov. Bill Owens has signed a bill that requires drivers
younger than 18 years old convicted of misdemeanor offenses such as speeding
and reckless driving to take a minimum of six hours of driver’s education.
Traffic accidents are the leading cause of death among Colorado’s youth, TheDenverChannel.com reported. Supporters of the effort – HB1108 – say the new rule could prevent some of those deaths.
A second teen driving bill – HB1107 – requires parents of
teens with driving permits to sign a log verifying their child has completed 50
hours of actual driving time,
including 10 hours at night.
Parents who accept liability will be required to accompany their teen drivers.
The new law also prohibits anyone between age 15 and 16
from getting behind the wheel without being accompanied by a Colorado license
holder at least 21 years of age.