A bill in the California Assembly is intended to provide car
and truck buyers with greater assurances that used vehicles have not been water
Sponsored by Assemblywoman Jenny Oropeza, D-Carson, the
measure would prohibit the reselling or transferring ownership of a vehicle
that has been damaged by a flood unless disclosed on the vehicle title.
Oropeza said the effort is needed to combat vehicles,
including large trucks, damaged by flooding from sources like hurricanes
Katrina and Rita, as well as recent California floods, from being sold to
She said the bill would “protect consumers by making it a
misdemeanor to resell or transfer ownership of a vehicle that has been flooded,
water damaged or the title reregistered so often the salvage label has been
dropped, or ‘washed’ to hide its true history.
“Caveat Emptor may mean ‘buyer beware’ but when the title of
the vehicle itself is fraudulent, consumers need strong government protection,” Oropeza said.
Supporters said that as many as 500,000 water-damaged
vehicles from last year’s hurricanes could have been sent to used lots
Anyone found in violation would face fines of $1,000. Repeat
offenders would face a $5,000 fine. A third or subsequent offense would result
in a $10,000 fine.
The proposed rule would be in effect until Jan. 1, 2012.
AB1854 is in the Assembly Transportation Committee.
A similar protection was signed into law in Louisiana late last year.
The Louisiana version requires most vehicles totaled by
flood to receive a “certificate of destruction” and be crushed or dismantled.
That new law, however, excludes from the protection vehicles with a gross weight
in excess of 20,000 pounds.
Louisiana law previously required flooded vehicles to
receive a “salvage certificate” and that the damage be noted on the titles.
Damaged vehicles would have their frames and electrical
systems dismantled and crushed while certain parts could be refurbished or
resold. Only vehicles that are more than 75 percent ruined by a natural
disaster declared by the governor or president would be covered under the
Anyone who fails to abide by the rule could get up to six months
in jail and/or up to a $5,000 fine, as well as at least 80 hours of community