designed to make teens safer on roads throughout the state won unanimous
approval in the Colorado Senate Transportation Committee.
offered by Rep. Debbie Benefield, D-Arvada, would require drivers younger than
18 years old convicted of misdemeanor offenses such as speeding and reckless
driving to take a minimum of six hours of driver’s education.
the leading cause of death among Colorado’s youth, TheDenverChannel.com reported. Supporters of the effort say
the proposed rule could prevent some of those deaths.
bill offered by Benefield would require parents of teens with a driving permit
to sign a log verifying their child has completed 50 hours of actual driving.
accept liability would be required to accompany the teen driver.
also would prohibit anyone between age 15 and 16 from getting behind the wheel
without being accompanied by a Colorado license holder at least 21 years of
education bill – HB1108 – and the driving permit bill – HB1107 – are waiting
consideration before the full Senate. The House has already approved them.