Washington Gov. Christine Gregoire has signed a bill into
law intended to crackdown on drunken driving in the state.
The new law, previously HB3317, would make a fifth
conviction of driving under the influence in 10 years a felony. A DUI charge
would also be a felony for those people with previous convictions for vehicular
assault or vehicular homicide while impaired.
“This is a very important public safety bill to get
incorrigible drunken drivers off our roads,” Gregoire told The Associated Press.
Washington law previously called for drunken drivers to face up to
one year behind bars unless other factors, such as injury or death, resulted in
The new rule, which takes effect in July 2007, would
mandate that drivers with five offenses in a decade serve 15 months to five
years in prison.