Speeders in Oregon nabbed for traveling in excess of 100 mph
could be slapped with a hefty fine and the loss of their licenses beginning
Existing Oregon law makes driving more than 30 mph over a
posted speed limit punishable by a fine between $421 and $720.
Gov. Ted Kulongoski has signed a bill into law that allows
fines of up to $1,000 and possible suspension of driver’s licenses for one to
three months, the Statesman Journal reported.
The new law, previously SB568, also allows judges to
temporarily suspend the license of anyone speeding by more than 30 mph over the
posted speed limit. With most Oregon highways having a 55 mph speed limit,
drivers could face the new punishment at speeds starting at 85 mph.
The new rule takes effect Jan. 1, 2006.