North Carolina Senate has approved a bill that would more than double penalties
for motorists in the state who don’t slow down or move over for emergency
bill, which previously passed the Senate, now heads to Gov. Mike Easley for his
you ignore these vehicles … there are consequences,” Rep. Ray Rapp, D-Madison,
recently told The Associated Press.
who fail to move to another lane when approaching an emergency vehicle that has
its flashing lights on and is parked by the side of multilane roads or reduce
speed while on a two-lane road could be fined $250.
North Carolina law allows for a fine of up to $25 and $100 in court costs, The
News & Observer reported.
whose inaction results in an accident, injury or death would face the increased
penalty. If an emergency official is seriously injured or killed, offenders
could get possible prison time and a six-month driver’s license revocation.
bill – HB288 – comes in response to reports that judges are throwing out
traffic citations against motorists because they say the public hasn’t been
alerted to changes in North Carolina law, which passed in 2002.
least 67 troopers have been injured on the job since 2003, the newspaper
an effort to educate all drivers of the current “Move Over” law, the North
Carolina Department of Transportation is posting large signs on interstates
near the state’s borders alerting motorists of the law.