Oregon House voted 57-2 last month to approve a bill that would slap speeders
going faster than 100 mph with a hefty fine and the loss of their licenses.
Sponsored by Sen. Floyd
Prozanski, D-Eugene, the bill now moves to Gov. Ted Kulongoski for his
signature. It passed the Senate 27-1 in May.
Current Oregon law
makes driving more than 30 mph over a posted speed limit punishable by a fine
of between $421 and $720.
SB568 would allow
fines of up to $1,000 and possible suspension of driver’s licenses for one to
three months, the Statesman Journal reported.
bill also would allow judges to temporarily suspend the license of anyone
speeding by more than 30 mph over the posted speed limit. With most Oregon
highways having a 55 mph speed limit, drivers could face the new punishment at
speeds starting at 85 mph.