Ruth Ann Minner signed a bill into law June 23 to put uninsured drivers in
Delaware on the road to losing their licenses.
new law, which took effect immediately, won unanimous support in the
by Sen. David Sokola, D-Newark, SB20 allows law enforcement to take the license
plates off vehicles whose drivers do not have insurance. Currently, 11 percent
of Delaware drivers are not covered, WBOC-TV in Delmarva reported.
state’s Insurance Department fraud investigators or law enforcement are
responsible for locating and yanking down the plates from an uninsured driver’s
previous law, drivers pulled over for a traffic offense or who were involved in
an accident and did not have insurance, received a $1,500 fine. The new rule
maintains the fine amount, but also gives a warning: purchase insurance in a
certain amount of time or lose your license plates.
who lose their plates could get them back by presenting proof of insurance and
Insurance Commissioner Matt Dean said the new rule is a matter of basic
fairness toward those who follow the law.
legislation sends a clear message to uninsured drivers,” Dean said in a
released statement. “The law-abiding drivers of Delaware will no longer
subsidize your illegal activities by paying higher auto insurance rates.”