Drivers hoping to
make better time in Oregon better just plan on leaving the house a little
earlier – a bill in the state would drastically increase the punishment for
speeders doing over 100 mph.
The bill, SB568,
would impose a $1,000 fine plus a 30-day license suspension for anyone caught
reaching triple-digit speeds, according to the Bend Bulletin. The bill
would also allow judges to temporarily suspend the license of anyone doing more
than 30 mph over the posted speed limit, even if they’re doing less than 100,
the Bulletin reported.
Most Oregon highways
have a 55 mph speed limit, which means drivers could face the fine and loss of
license at speeds starting at 85 mph.
manager of the Oregon DOT’s safety division, told KATU-TV that speeding
has moved ahead of alcohol as the number one contributing factor in fatal
crashes in the state. Citations for speeding over 90 mph in Oregon have
increased by 4 percent during the last five years, despite an overall 30
percent drop in speeding tickets, the Corvallis Gazette-Times reported.