A new law in Kentucky gives harsher penalties to uninsured drivers.
Gov. Ernie Fletcher signed a bill into law earlier this year allowing Kentucky drivers to be cited for driving an uninsured vehicle, regardless if the driver owns the vehicle.
Under the new law, previously HB63, the owner can also be cited separately for failing to purchase liability insurance for the vehicle.
A person caught driving without insurance would face a fine up to $1,000 and/or as much as 90 days in jail. Subsequent violations could increase the fine amount to as much as $2,500 and/or up to 180 days confinement.
Vehicle owners caught with an uninsured vehicle will be required to obtain insurance, with proof of coverage and payment, for one year or until registration renewal, the Bowling Green Daily News reported. Subsequent offenses could result in a vehicle registration revocation and license plate suspension for one year.