It's time to spring forward

| Friday, April 01, 2005

Don’t forget to move your clocks ahead one hour at 2 a.m. Sunday, April 3, as the nation moves to daylight-saving time.

And while you’re on the road, don’t forget to call the folks back home and remind them to change the batteries in their smoke detectors. Fresh batteries should be installed at every time change to make sure that the detectors will be working when you need them to.

Don’t forget, when you’re driving across state lines, Arizona doesn’t participate in daylight-saving time, so they won’t be springing forward. Hawaii also opts not to participate, but there’s not much danger of driving into the island state from another time zone, so it’s not much of a problem for truckers.

Indiana, however, is another story. Most of the state doesn’t have to spring forward because the majority of Indiana counties do not participate in the daylight-saving system. Seventy-seven counties in Indiana are in the Eastern Time Zone but do not change to daylight-saving time in April. Instead they remain on standard time all year long.

But in 10 Indiana counties – five near Chicago and five near Evansville – are in the Central Time Zone and use both Central Standard and Central Daylight. Another five counties – two near Cincinnati and three near Louisville, KY – are in the Eastern Time Zone but use both Eastern Standard and Eastern Daylight.

The Indiana situation could change though. The Indianapolis Star reported today, Friday, April 1, that the state legislature is considering a measure that would make daylight-saving time the law of Hoosier land.

The Star reported that a House committee approved the proposal this week, and the full House could vote on the matter as soon as Tuesday, April 5. If it survives the full house and also gains approval by the Indiana Senate and governor, the state could be springing forward on June 5 this year.