A Wyoming legislative panel rejected a measure that would
have doubled the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage that drivers
are required to carry in the state.
The House Transportation, Highways and Military Affairs
Committee voted 8-1 Jan. 13 against the bill.
Wyoming drivers are required to carry minimum liability
coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident for causing injury or
death of another person. The minimum coverage for property damage is $20,000.
The bill – HB8 – would have required drivers to expand that
coverage to $50,000 per person and $100,000 per incident for injury or death,
as well as $25,000 for property damage.
Dave Uechner, an attorney and lobbyist for the American
Insurance Association, said liability limits are not the key to maintaining
safety on the state’s roads – it depends on solving the problem of uninsured
“If there was a way to cure the problem of uninsured
drivers, I would encourage you to pass it,” Uechner told lawmakers.
If the bill passed, he said, it would likely keep some
people from obtaining the insurance.
Committee Chairman Rep. Dave Edwards, R-Douglas, said
another bill – HB169 – would address changes to the law that governs uninsured