call to Michigan drivers has begun in the state House, as a bill introduced
by Rep. Lorence Wenke, R-Kalamazoo, would punish sleepy drivers who cause
proposal, people who drive after going without sleep for more than 24 hours
and cause the death of another person could be charged with a misdemeanor,
the Capital News Service reported. The tired driver could spend
up to two years in prison and face a $2,000 fine.
HB5707 is inspired by New Jersey’s “Maggie’s Law,” adopted
after a driver who hadn’t slept for 30 hours killed 20-year-old Maggie
McDowell. The man received a $200 ticket.
Gov. James McGreevey signed the measure into law in June, encouraging other
states to follow.
977 crashes in Michigan were caused by fatigue – 10 of them fatal – according
to the news service.
Department of Transportation identifies fatigue as the biggest safety problem
in transportation operations, costing more than $12 billion a year in productivity
and property loss.
are falling asleep at the wheels,” Wenke said. “To get behind the wheel
after not sleeping for 24 hours and know it is like being intoxicated.