New Jersey governor signs cell phone bill

| Wednesday, January 21, 2004

New Jersey became the second state in the country Tuesday to ban drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving.

Gov. James McGreevey signed legislation Jan. 20 that sets $100 to $250 fines for drivers caught using cell phones in traffic. New York has the only other state law restricting cell phone use by drivers.

The new law limits drivers to the use of “hands-free” devices, but still allows drivers to dial, answer and turn on their mobile phones.

S338 does not allow police to stop drivers for using hand-held phones. They can only be ticketed if stopped for another reason. The new law exempt emergency calls.

No points would be assessed against the offender’s driving record.