OOIDA members honored by HHG company

| 11/3/2003

Two OOIDA members were among seven household goods drivers honored by The Bekins Co. as Drivers of the Year. The awards were presented to one driver from each of the company's seven fleet categories during Bekins' recent annual convention at the Doral Eaglewood Conference Resort and Spa in Itasca, IL.

OOIDA member Don Snellgrose of Joplin, MO, was named 2002 Driver of the Year for the company's metro/truckload fleet. During his three years with Bekins, Snellgrose received Driver of the Month in 2002 and the Bekins Safety Award.

James Watts, an OOIDA member from Mesquite, TX, received the 2002 Driver of the Year award for the Bekin's TimeLok fleet. In his 29 years with Bekins, Watts has received 17 Safety Awards and has been named Driver of the Month in 1996, 1998, 2000 and 2002.

Other winners of Bekins' Driver of the Year awards are: Ruben Smith, Raymond, IL, agent household goods fleet; Ernest Chavira Sr., Hacienda Heights, CA, high-value products fleet; Alexander Ackerman, Plainfield, NJ, corporate fleet; Edward Worthen, Milton, WA, household goods fleet; and Leroy Chow, Huntington Beach, CA, agent high-value products fleet.

Headquartered in Hillside, IL, The Bekins Co. includes Bekins Worldwide Solutions Inc. and Bekins Van Lines LLC.

--by René Tankersley, feature editor

René Tankersley can be reached at rene_tankersley@landlinemag.com.