Wisconsin bill increases hit-and-run penalties

| Monday, October 27, 2003

The Wisconsin Assembly approved legislation Oct. 21 increasing penalties for drivers who leave the scene of an accident involving deaths or injuries. It now heads to the Senate.

Under current law, penalties vary for drivers who flee the scene of an accident, depending on whether a person was injured in the accident and the severity of injuries, Milwaukee’s WDJT TV reported.

Now, drivers who flee an injury accident may be fined up to $10,000 and serve 42 months in prison. A person who fails to remain at the scene of an accident resulting in a person’s death may be fined up to $10,000 and spend up to six years in prison.

AB375, sponsored by Rep. J.A. Hines, R-Oxford, would increase the penalties for someone who fails to remain at the scene of an injury accident to no more than $50,000 and 15 years behind bars. A person failing to remain at the scene of a deadly accident would face fines up to $100,000 and 25 years in prison.

Comments