today, truckers based in California will pay a higher vehicle license
fee to the state.
vehicle license fee dropped in 1998 after the General Assembly passed
a law that cut the payments made by vehicle owners subject to California
registration, according to a letter from Ken Reed, chief of the
state’s IRP office. However, the same bill Reed wrote required the
fee to return to its previous, higher level when California’s general
fund did not have enough money to pay for the “offset,” or reduction.
is in the midst of a significant budget crisis, and major cuts are
expected in many programs. That means the 1998 law, requiring the
fees to go up, has been triggered.
letter, dated June 23 and sent to Robert Pitcher, president of the
International Registration Plan Inc., said the change would be effective
Oct. 1, 2003.
fee is based on a percentage of a truck’s value. On a $100,000 rig,
the fee last year would be $650. After Oct. 1, the fee on that hypothetical
truck will rise to its former level, roughly $2,000. However, the
older the truck, the lower its value and the lower the fee its owner
to The Associated Press, the fee goes to local governments
to pay for such services as police and fire protection. Several
candidates in the current race to replace Gov. Gray Davis have offered
to overturn the increase, and offered a number of plans to replace
drivers are also paying a higher fee starting this month. The
AP said the average car fee would increase from $76 a year to
in the state also face higher weight-based IRP fees, which passed
the General Assembly and now only lack the governor’s signature
to become law.