New law in Connecticut restricts teen drivers

| Tuesday, August 19, 2003

A new law in Connecticut places tougher requirements on teens who want to get a learner’s permit and restricts younger drivers once they have their license.

SB921 was passed by both houses of the General Assembly and signed into law by Gov. John Rowland, making it Public Act 03-171.

The new law strengthens driver training and education requirements for those who hold driver’s permits and for teens who apply for a motor vehicle operator's license.

For example, a permit holder could not drive a car unless an adult at least 20 years old who has held a driver’s license for four years or more is in the car.

Also, to receive a driver’s license, an applicant must be at least 16, have held a learner’s permit for at least 180 days, have successfully completed a state-certified driver’s education course and have completed a course on the dangers of drinking and driving. The teen must also pass both a written and on-the-road test on driving skills.

The new restrictions don’t end once the teen has his or her license.

Beginning in October, for the first three months a 16- and 17-year-old driver holds a license, that driver cannot transport anyone other than his or her parent or guardian. For three months after that, the driver’s passengers are limited to immediate family members.

Comments