Trucking journalist Lockwood honored

| 7/22/2003

Recently, the Canadian Business Press honored trucking journalist Rolf Lockwood for his career achievements. Lockwood has been writing about trucks and trucking in North America for more than 25 years and is the editorial director for the New Communications Group. He is also president of the Truck Writers of North America (TWNA).

Lockwood received the Harvey Southam Career Achievement Award, and Today's Trucking, published by New Communications, won a silver and three top-five honors at the 2003 Kenneth R. Wilson awards in Toronto last month.

The Kenneth R. Wilson Awards recognize the best writing and graphic design in Canadian business-to-business publishing. The Harvey Southam Award celebrates a person who exhibits the highest standard of business journalism and editorial leadership over a career.

In accepting his award, Lockwood, 56, advised journalists to produce magazines with as much pride and professionalism as the audience they write for.

"That means getting out among your readers so you can see the industry you cover through their eyes," he said. "You'll come to respect your readers, and they in turn will develop respect for you. You'll gain credibility, the cornerstone of success for any of us here."

As editorial director of New Communications Group, he oversees production of Today's Trucking, HighwaySTAR and Transport Routier magazines. He is a founding partner in New Communications Group, which launched Today's Trucking in 1987.

Under Lockwood's guidance, only four business magazines have won more Kenneth R. Wilson awards for writing in the past 10 years than Today's Trucking.

This year was no exception. Today's Trucking contributing editor Jim Park received a silver award for best regularly featured column. Each month, Park writes about issues from the truckdriver's perspective in his column, "Driver's Side."

Park also collected a top-five honor in the best industrial writing class for "Who Will Drive?" about the changing demographics of truckdrivers. The story was published in September 2002.

Editor Stephen Petit and associate editor Marco Beghetto earned a top-five award in the best-issue category for the November 2002 edition of Today's Trucking. Beghetto also received a top-five award in the marketing category for "Instant Message," on truck-side advertising.

There were more than 650 entries in the competition this year. Gold and silver awards are presented to the first and second place winners in each category, and top-five finishers receive an honorable mention.

Today's Trucking was the only trucking industry publication recognized in 2003.

The Kenneth R. Wilson awards are presented by the Canadian Business Press, an association of business-to-business publishers.