Bad news for Michigan's bad drivers

| Monday, July 21, 2003

Michigan’s habitually bad drivers would pay up to $1,000 a year to keep their driving privileges under a plan approved by the House July 16.

The bill, which now heads to Gov. Jennifer Granholm, is intended to crack down on repeat driving offenders and increase revenue for the state, The Detroit News reported.

“Drunk driving, reckless driving and road rage-related incidents have made Michigan’s roads and highways more dangerous than ever,” the bill’s sponsor, Sen. Jud Gilbert, R-Algonac, said in a recent statement. “The time has come for us to send a serious message to those drivers who threaten the greater public’s safety with their reckless behavior behind the wheel.”

SB509 would put a $100 fee on people who rack up seven or more points on their driver’s license within two years. Drivers with more points would be charged $50 per point. Those convicted of more serious crimes, such as reckless driving or drunken driving, could face fees between $500 and $1,000.

The fees are expected to generate as much as $75 million a year for the state, the newspaper reported. Only points accumulated after the law takes effect would be subject to the fees.

Comments