OOIDA directors announce 2003 scholarship award recipients

| 7/3/2003

The OOIDA board of directors has selected the five winners for this year’s scholarship awards program. The board also decided to award the scholarships in memory of Robert Driscoll, OOIDA’s longtime general vice president, who passed away earlier this year.

The association will accept donations in Driscoll’s honor as well as any other memorial donations for truckers.

“We’ve had a number of requests regarding memorial funding for the scholarship program,” said Todd Spencer, OOIDA executive vice president and scholarship committee chairman. “The requests have been made not only in memory of Bob Driscoll, but other truckers who are no longer with us but cared very deeply about the process of not only encouraging but enabling our young people to be the best they can be.”

The first place winner for the 2003 scholarship awards program is Darren Lewis Stafford of Cambridge, MD; second place is James R. Scott of Rushville, OH; third is Rebecca Levine of Downingtown, PA; fourth place is Trisha Melinda Crutchfield of Drexel, NC; and fifth place is Rebecca A. Vogel of Atglen, PA.

First place receives a $2,000 scholarship. Second, third, fourth and fifth place winners will each receive a $1,000 scholarship. OODIA scholarships are renewable for up to four years.