Aggressive driving bill under review in Michigan

| Thursday, June 19, 2003

Aggressive drivers would be dealt with more harshly under a proposal in the Michigan Legislature.

A bill introduced by state Sen. Samuel “Buzz” Thomas III, D-Detroit, would charge someone with aggressive driving if they broke at least two traffic laws.

A conviction of aggressive driving would carry a sentence up to 180 days in jail or a fine up to $2,500, or both.

Under SB332, the offenses that would have to be violated to convict someone of aggressive driving include running a red light, following too closely, failing to yield right-of-way and illegal passing.

The bill is in the Senate Committee on Judiciary.

Comments