Teen driving restrictions die in Arizona

| Thursday, June 12, 2003

An attempt to keep teens out of their cars in the early morning hours died in committee as the Arizona Legislature closed its session for this year.

SB1055 would have made it illegal for teens to be behind the wheel from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. and would have required them to take a state-approved driver’s education course to get a license. The proposal would have required at least 24 hours of time in the classroom and 6 hours of professional instruction behind the wheel.

The bill had been before the Rules and the Natural Resources and Transportation committees. It was held in that committee earlier in the session and never emerged.