bill that would require drivers in California who use cell phones
to have a hands-free device has passed the Assembly and is now before
Assembly approved AB45 May 29 by a vote of 49-27.
bill, which was introduced by California Assemblyman Joe Simitian,
D-Palo Alto, would set the fines for not having one of the devices
at $20 for the first offense and $50 for every subsequent offense.
Like many other cell phone proposals across the country, it makes
an exception for people using the phones to make an emergency call.