More congressmen sign on as cosponsors of Safety Month resolution

| 5/23/2003

Rep. Roy Blunt, R-MO, and Rep. Danny Davis, D-IL, have both signed on as cosponsors of House Concurrent Resolution 164, which would establish a National Truck Safety Month each year.

Earlier this month, two other members of the House, Rep. Dan Burton, R-IN, and Rep. James Moran, D-VA, both added their names to the list of cosponsors of the measure.

 The resolution, sponsored by Missouri Rep. Sam Graves, asks President George W. Bush to issue a proclamation commending all truckers for their extra effort this June to comply with truck safety regulations. The legislators introduced a congressional resolution to heighten awareness about the contributions, needs and safety-related issues of the nation's truckdrivers.

"The pressure on truckdrivers is real and, at times, can be immense," OOIDA President Jim Johnston said. "We appreciate this effort by Congress, and encourage all truckers to contact their U.S. representative and ask them to sign on as a cosponsor of House Concurrent Resolution 164."

Other cosponsors include:

  • Rep. Lee Terry, R-NE, a member of the U.S. House since 1998, serving the second district of Nebraska;
  • Rep. Mac Collins, R-GA, a small-business owner who started Collins Trucking at the age of 18 and a member of the House Ways and Means Committee;
  • Rep. Kevin Brady, R-TX, who also serves on the House Ways & Means Committee;
  • Rep. Jim Oberstar, D-MN, senior Democrat on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

The resolution calls on all highway users, shippers, receivers, motor carriers and federal and state regulatory and law-enforcement officials to support the efforts of truckdrivers to make the nation's highways a safer place to travel and to work.

Blunt serves as House Majority Whip, the third highest leadership post among House Republicans. He also serves on the Committee on Energy and Commerce.

Davis, 61, is a resident of Chicago who has served in Congress since 1997. He serves on the Small Business Committee, Education and Workforce Committee and Government Reform Committee.

Burton has served as the U.S. representative for Indiana's Fifth District since November 1982. He has served in a number of committees, including a stint as the chairman of the Committee on Government Reform.

Moran, 57, is a seven-term member of Congress and a member of the Appropriations Committee. He is the former mayor of Alexandria, VA, across the Potomac River from Washington, DC.

--by Mark H. Reddig, associate editor

Mark Reddig can be reached at