North Dakota speed bill slowed

| 4/4/2003

The North Dakota Senate has rejected legislation creating higher speed fines and a 75 mph interstate speed limit.

Senators voted 25-22 April 1 to defeat the measure. HB1047 is headed back to the House for consideration.

The 75 mph legislation would impose a $3 fine for every mile per hour a driver is over the speed limit. Once a driver reaches 10 mph over the limit, the per-mile fine is bumped to $5.

Supporters of the 5-mph speed increase argue that the highways were originally designed for that speed, and that vehicles now have many more safety features.