Wyoming teen-driving bill fails to pass

| Thursday, April 03, 2003

A bill in Wyoming aimed at cutting down on carloads of teen-agers and late-night joyriding while stepping up their training time failed to gain full approval in the Legislature.

HB80 passed the House in early February by a 37 to 22 vote. It never got full backing in the Senate and was later rejected by a 24 to 16 vote.

The bill required teen drivers to complete a driver's education course or at least 50 hours driving under adult supervision – including at least 10 hours of night driving.

The proposal prohibited teens from being behind the wheel between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older, driving to and from work, school or religious activity or an emergency.

Under the measure, teens would not be allowed to transport multiple passengers under 21, unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older.

At age 17, the driving restriction would have been lifted, provided the teen had no prior violations, which would have delayed full driving privileges one year.

Comments